Tenth International Congress of Neuroethology

At the University of Maryland, College Park, MD USA • August 5-10, 2012


Co-chair: Hans Joachim Pflueger, Germany
Co-chair: Andrea Megela Simmons, USA
Liason to local committee: Arthur N. Popper, USA
Melissa Coleman, USA
Mark Frye, USA
Asif Ghanzanfar, USA
Martin Giurfa, France
Zhongmin (John) Lu, USA
Justin Marshall, Australia
Roy Ritzmann, USA
Peter Simmons, UK
Sakiko Shiga, Japan
Annemarie Surlykke, Denmark
Lidia Szczupak, Argentina

Poster Dimensions

The maximum poster board area available per poster is 4' (height) x 8' (width), which equals approx. 120 x 240 cm. Posters can be smaller than the maximum available poster board area. Push pins and velcro will be provided.


Download the PROGRAM BOOK.
Each title in the program book links to the online abstract for the talk or poster. An index in the back of the program book will tell you the number of the presentation for each author. Click here to go directly to the online abstracts for the meeting.

Opening Reception

Schedule (program as of July 20, 2012; PDF)

Evening Lectures


  1. Malcolm Burrows (University of Cambridge, UK)
    How do animals move quickly: Interactions between brain, muscle and skeleton
  2. Elke Buschbeck (University of Cincinnati, USA)
    The making of an eye: structural and functional diversity of stemmata
  3. Carsten Duch (Arizona State University, USA)
    Probing motoneuron function with targeted genetic manipulation in Drosophila
  4. Ole Kiehn  (Karolinska Institute, SWE)
    Spinal motor networks – excitation moving us forward
  5. Toshiya Matsushima (Hokkaido University, JP)
    Chick economics: profitability, risk and competition
  6. Arthur Popper (University of Maryland, USA)
    From blind cave fish to pile driving – a tale of translational neuroethology
  7. Constance Scharff (Freie Universitat, Berlin, GER)
    Is FoxP2 a candidate for 'deep homology'?

Symposia (PDF of full symposia schedule)

Banquet Cruise

Conference Dress Code

©2011 University of Maryland. International Society for Neuroethology.